Sunday, April 25, 2010

Road rage much?

Friday night I was driving in my cab. I was behind a loaded car that was driving slow, constantly hitting the breaks, and basically deserving a slap to the face. There were four lanes of traffic, so I get into the left lane to pass them. Of course they see that I am sick of their lack of driving ability and decided to punch it, I still manage to get in front of them before the next light. No big deal. All of the sudden my cab phone starts to ring. "Hello, name of my cab company" I answer. "Your cab #30 just cut us off! That driver tried to run us off of the road!" "Are you sure?" I reply. "Yes! We are still behind the cab..the lic plate number is ------" "Wow, that is pretty serious..I am going to fire that driver immediately! Thanks for calling"

I watch in my rear view mirror as they high five and act way too excited for basically thinking that they ruined some one's life over nothing. Kids these days.

Saturday, April 24, 2010

Random and boring update,

Life has been something else lately. I have had SO much going on, but don't feel like getting into my past right now, so I will save it for another day.


At the airport I have just accepted that people are going to steal..,.well two people are always going to steal anyway. All the other cabbies at the airport are pretty nice and decent. I was talking to Norm the other day and I told him from now on I am just going to take anyone that comes to my cab..."So am I" Norm replied, and then the rat yelled from his cab and said "So am I" Haha. He was in front of Norm and I, but behind two other cabs that are his "friends". A person walked out of the airport and the rat yelled over "Need a cab?" The guy got in his cab and the rat pulled away while his "friends" tired to stop him. He has no respect for anyone or anything.


I made a new friend in my cab from India. He got into my cab, at the airport, and we instantly clicked. He is in town to take over a company. He makes all of the people that work for him take my cab. I have also went to Church with him a few times and we are going out to dinner before he leaves. He is probably one of the nicest people I have ever met in my entire life. He is good from the heart and tries to do good things with his life. There is nothing romantic at all with him, he has a wife and a daughter, and refers to me as his little sister. It's kind of weird, since I try not to get too involved with people I meet in my cab, but he will be going back to India soon anyway.

Friday, April 16, 2010

Just because I drive a pink car

Doesn't mean that I want to race. I have to drive like a grandma in that car, and it sucks! All these little rice burners want to race, and I could beat their ass in a second...but I CAN'T. Cab insurance already kicks my ass in a major way monthly, add a speeding ticket to that, and I will have to take up the offers of the men who so kindly offer to "rent" me and my cab for a few hours. Or not.

The airport has gotten better, I guess.

The pre-pay after 10 pm is complete bullshit. I knew the cops wanted us to enforce that out of pure laziness. One of the other cabbies came up to my cab and started talking about it yesterday. He told me that he had a run off, because he under estimated the fare, and the police told him too bad. I KNEW this was going to happen. Making people pre-pay is a joke, And maybe you can guess at the cab fare, but you can never know where people are going for sure. When 6 people pile into your van cab, it is almost guaranteed that all of them are not going to the same address. Take into account their short cuts, which are never money savers, and waiting time. And you almost always under estimate...but since you told them it would be ten dollars...or whatever, you are expected to take the loss? I don't think so. If all those cab companies wouldn't have been such kiss asses at the meeting, this never would have happened. Only I, and funny enough, Sez, said that we were against it at the meeting. I will never make anyone pre-pay, and I have never had a run off..not yet anyway. To each their own I guess.

Tuesday, April 6, 2010

I am posting another post

SUE or KILL me...lol. I don't care. I am so single, it kinda hurts. There has been this guy, for the past two months, who likes to talk to me late at night and write me songs. Besides a fellow cabbie that I dated for a week, he is really the only person I have had an interest with...since my last boyfriend. I tend to date older, in fact I have an inside joke...I like my men and cars the same years...77-81. ANYWAY we were fighting all day today and into the night. This is me, basically giving up. I so try to see the best in people, and he likes to point out the worst of me.

P.s Monday night is a drinking night. I still stand by me hating this 6 year older than me guy. I am going to die alone with 1.462 cats. Thanks a lot.

Are you going to move your cab up?

The airport becomes a daily hassle in my chosen profession. When it is slow, you go to the airport to sit in line.

To sit in line you must purchase an airport pass. When you purchase an airport pass, you must sign an agreement to rules. People MUST go to the first cab in line, you can NOT solicit fares, blah blah and so on.

Sadly there are a few cabbies who make a career out of stealing...one is my sworn enemy. We will call him Sez.

Sez and his boyfriend, who we will call Rat, wait until they are both in line and STEAL. They use each other for a witness, so hours of sitting do not pay off. Yes, I made a complaint or two to airport security. And do you know what they told me to do today? Steal back. I mean, really..I hate to complain. But a person can only take so much. I tried to confront the rats, but nothing works. Airport authority told me to get more aggressive...they said if the Rat or Sez is in front of me I should take their fare and say the person did not want to ride with them. Lazy LAZY people should just do their jobs. The airport is basically going to be a blood bath. Do I want to take part in it? NOT at all. I will, though...if that is what it takes.

Sunday, April 4, 2010

Sunday, Fun day...Happy Easter!

So last night was a total bust. I went home and went to bed at 1 am (nice thing about being owner/operator). I am guessing bar rush took about 10 minutes to clean up last night, since all the cabs were super hungry and sitting.

Good thing I was busy Saturday day AND today. Nothing says Easter like Jenny ditching to pick up sailors.

I used to have a blog. I quit when I became old and boring....now I am older, but my job is less boring? I don't know. I need somewhere to put all of my random bullshit.

Speaking of that, I have a farm. Well...I have three horses and two cats. I also have a pond, which beavers have decided to take over and RUIN my entire farm by flooding it. My 17 year old cousin promised to take care of it today, AND promised not to kill them...let's see what happens.

Saturday, April 3, 2010

Friday night bites

Why do the weekend nights seem to come around so quickly? Don't get me wrong, I love being busy in the cab, but the nights seem soo long.

I live in a smaller city, around 100k people or so, and we have six colleges in the area. Weekends are a free for all. I make as much money working weekend nights, as I did in a whole week at my previous job.


That being said...you earn your money. The younger college students do not know how to hold their liquor. The weekend is fighting, crying, passing out, ball's in the face, 5 stops per fare, and let's not forget the students favorite game...calling every cab company in the phone book and then flagging down the first cab that they see.


Weekends are not all bad though...they are kind of fun until bar close. Free entertainment. I have stories for days, and I could have enough dates for a year if I wanted them...add a youngISH female in a cab with drunken guys and suddenly they love you, heck you could put a mailbox with a blonde wig behind the wheel and they would probably feel the same way. Plus people just throw money at you on weekend nights because they are go grateful to get a cab at all...the police are now trying to ruin this, but I will get into that another day.


And why, you ask, are people so grateful to get a cab? I will tell you why....bar close. Where I live bar close is 2:00 am, most people can't seem to figure out that maybe it would be best to leave the bar even a half hour before that. So what happens? The bars lock their doors and throw everyone out on the streets. It looks like a scene right out of the living dead! There are mobs of people in the streets ATTACKING cabs...even if they are full. It takes a good hour or two for the cabs to get everyone home. I had one person climb on my cab, and the police had to remove him. People physically fight over cabs. And they ALWAYS try to overload (Don't worry, we will give you a really good tip. Yeah, right. NO thanks.)


So there it is, my first post. Sort of lame, but it's early morning for me. Looking forward to tonight!