This weekend has been so entirely slow. And hot. I am not used to this 90+ degree heat with humidity being way up there.
Cab business has been steady, which is nice. I rarely go to the airport anymore, and when I do it is to drop someone off or to pick up a personal call. It's funny, now when I arrive at the airport the other cabbies rush my cab to see where I've been (aww, they miss me)... kinda cute.
Last weekend I was sitting in line, at one of the bars, and I noticed this guy kept on looking at my cab. Finally, when I got to first in line, he ran over and jumped in. I ask where he is going and he said to the holiday inn, which is very nearby.
We start driving, and he informs me that he is from Canada and it's his 28th birthday. "Happy Birthday!" I tell him. Did you have a good night? "No, I got dropped from my sponsor today and all my friends ditched me"
Aww.
Why are you going back to your room so early? The night is still young. I tell him. "How much do you think you will make tonight? More than $100.00?" "I will give you that much to give to your boss and then you can park this and go to the casino with me..sound good?"
I am not allowed to do that, sorry. "Well how about I rip this fucking meter out of the cab and you can pretend you got robbed and go with me, does that sound better?"
Phycho.
Oh, look! We are almost to your hotel. I start to make a left turn to enter the parking lot, but he grabs the steering wheel and forces the wheel straight.
"I don't want to go back yet, I want to spend time when you. How about you drive me around until the meter says $50.00 and then you can bring me back here?"
How about we go around the block and I bring you back to your hotel. Or how about we drive over to the police station, that is a few blocks away, and you can get out there? "Sorry, I just think you are really beautiful. Can I have your number and take you out sometime when I am not so drunk?"
I'm married. "I can kick his ass!" I am sure you can.
By this time we have arrived. He tries once more before leaving "Can I just get a birthday kiss, please?"
Aside from being so drunk, he paid the fare, gave me a nice tip, and some how managed to make it inside of the hotel.
Now here is the funny part.
This weekend.. same bar. I had a guy get in solo. I ask him where he is going, different hotel...almost same story.
"My name is Paul and I am from Canada" Nice to meet you. Did you have fun tonight?
"Not really. It is my 26th birthday and all of my friends ditched me." Sorry to hear that.
"It's not that big of a deal, you are probably the best girl that I have met all night anyway!"
Déjà vu much? Or is this some sort of Canadian pick up line?
The story almost ends the same, except this one was not off of his rocker. He went to McDonald's and then back to his room, where he tried to score my number, paid his fare...with a nice tip, and made it inside of the hotel.
I just thought that was so strange. Two weekends in a row. Let's see if next weekend holds number three..
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment